, MN
Phone: 612-861-6088
Fax:

Frequently Asked Questions

Your questions answered about cremation.

Cremation Costs

Arrange a low-cost cremation in just a few steps.

News and Stories

Stay informed with the latest news.

Do you have a cremation question?

Ask your cremation question now.

Cremation Process

cremation process in minnesota reasons for cremationThe cremation process must be done by an approved crematory, according to Minnesota laws. The laws stipulate that the crematory must meet all state and local codes, laws, and environmental standards. The laws also put an emphasis on the privacy and dignity of the remains.

During the cremation process, the body is put into a container, and then put into a crematory at temperatures of 1600-1800 degrees. This cremation process generally takes 1.5-2 hours, depending on the body size.

After the cremation process, all that remains are dry, lighter gray, bone fragments. These cremation remains are then pulverized to provide the cremation ashes. Although not officially ashes, the color and texture look similar to ashes.

After grinding is complete, the ashes are put into a box or urn. The ashes can then be kept in various urns for ashes, can be buried, or can be sprinkled on private land (with the owner's permission) or public land, if the jurisdiction allows it.

Questions: 

Can my body be immediately cremated and given to my family members in an urn of their choice?

Funeral homes will pick up the body and transfer the body to the funeral home for cremation. If there are no extenuating circumstances, it generally takes 2-4 business days for cremation.

Your family can then pick up the cremated remains from the funeral home, if you desire. Funeral homes could have shipping options, also.

At Gill Brothers Funeral and Cremation Services, we put the cremated remains in either a temporary cardboard or plastic urn that we provide, in an urn provided by the family, or in urn(s) that you can purchase. We also providing shipping and courier services.


Holding Time?

Currently there are not any laws in regards to holding the remains prior to the cremation. However, once the medical examiner, the family and the physician have signed off, the cremation can take place. In some rare instances, that could be within hour of the death. This is just the law in Minnesota. Each state has their own laws. There is no need to call a cremation society to arrange for a cremation. Any licensed Minnesota funeral director can assist according to Daniel McGraw from Gill Brothers Funeral & Cremation Services.


What is the average time table for the process of cremation?

An interesting question about the cremation time table and the impact on the funeral:

What is the average time table from death to cremation so you can have the funeral? I heard it might take up to 7 days to receive the ashes so you can have the funeral.

"Each death and the circumstances are different. Sometimes the cremation could be performed within an hour of the death, which would be usual, to several days, which would be unusual. The average time frame is 12-36 hours after the death.

There needs to be written permission from the family, the attending medical doctor and the local medical examiner. As a cremation provider, we help coordinate all the proper authorizations to make the process simple and easy for the families we serve."

This answer from: Dan McGraw, Gill Brothers Funeral Chapels. If you want specific information, feel free to contact Dan McGraw directly.


Can a service with viewing wait until the family arrives if you want to cremate the body?

A question was asked about how long you can view a body before you cremate it:

"If I want a service before a cremation, how long can a body be held in storage? I have family flying in from England, and want them to see the body."

The answer depends on if you want to embalm the body or not.

If you do not want to embalm the body:

  • A person may be held without embalming or refrigeration for up to 72 hours (3 days) prior to cremation. So, the service should occur within 3 days of the death if you want a viewing.
  • A person may be held without embalming, but with refrigeration, for up to 6 days. So, you have less than a week to have the service with a viewing if you refrigerate, but don't embalm, the body.

If you want to embalm the body:

If you want to embalm the body, there is no time limit, and viewing is possible during any time frame. However, you will obtain the best results for viewing if you embalm the body and have a viewing a few days after the death occurred.

 


Your SEO optimized title page contents